Can my teen drive after 9:00 p.m. on a junior license coming from a school event in upstate New York?

If your teen has a junior license, s/he cannot drive unsupervised after 9:00 p.m.

If your teen is driving on a junior license after 9:00 p.m. whether it’s an awards ceremony for your teen, a sporting event or graduation, New York State has strict laws for junior license drivers.

The law states that if your teen holds a junior license they cannot legally drive before 5:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, or a person who is over the age of 21 and has a valid driver’s license. However, they can drive unsupervised during this time of day only if they are traveling between home and work or attending a course for school.  Social school activities, i.e. sporting events, chorus concerts, award ceremonies are not considered courses for school thus not a legal reason to be driving after 9 p.m.

There are additional restrictions that your teen can be ticketed for while driving on a junior license, including exceeding the number and age of passengers allowed in the car, proper use of seatbelts, and cell phone or texting use.

What are the penalties for traffic violations as a junior driver?

If your teen is ticketed for a traffic violation their license can be suspended for 60 days if they are convicted of one serious traffic violation (a violation that carries three or more points which includes speeding, reckless driving, improper cell phone use or texting, disobeying a STOP or YIELD sign or traffic light, or improper passing or lane change) or two other violations (such as failure to signal or making an improper turn).

Their junior license can be revoked for 60 days if they are convicted of one serious traffic violation or two other violations within the first six months after their license was restored after being suspended.

If your teen has been ticketed with a traffic violation, the criminal defense attorneys at LaMarche Safranko Law can advocate for your teen.