Being charged with any specified offense as a Hate Crime increases the level of the offense by 1 level. In other words, if you are charged with an E felony as Hate Crime, you face punishment for a D felony.  Here are the offense levels, from lowest to highest:

  • Violation (not a crime)
  • B misdemeanor
  • A misdemeanor
  • E felony
  • D felony
  • C felony
  • B felony
  • A felony