In New York, felonies are broken down into 6 categories: A-I, A-II, B, C, D, and E.  The A-I and A-II charges being the most serious and a class E felony being the least serious felony charges.  The chart below identifies the maximum state prison incarceration for all felony convictions.


Level of Felony Maximum Incarceration
A Life in Prison
B 25 years
C 15 years
D 7 years
E 4 years


All felony convictions are serious, can lead to incarceration in State Prison, and the loss of certain civil rights, including voting, the right to possess a weapon, and passport restrictions.